) . :
i VIRGINIA MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION Pagelofl

“PERTAINING TO THE REMOVAL OF GILL NETS AND OTHER NON-FIXED FINFISHING
GEAR”

REGULATION 4 VAC 20-550-10 ET. SEOQ;

§ 4VAC20-5590-10 Purpose.

The purpose of this chapter is to ensure that gill nets and other nonfixed fmﬁshmg gear are properly fished
and to establish procedures for the removal of those nets which are abandoned or Lrnproper}y fished.

Statutory Authority §28.2-201 of the Code of,V1rg1ma.
Historical Notes

Derived from VR450-01-0072 §1 eff. June 8, 1991; amended, Vugmla Register Volume 11, Issue 22, eff.
July 1, 1995.

§ 4VAC20-550-26 ¥ishing requirement; notiﬁcation procedures. -

A. Tt shall be unlawful for any person to set any gﬂ} net or nonﬁxed finfishing device and let said net or
‘evice remain unfished.

3 )B H, upon visual observation, any Marine Patrol Officer determines.on reasonable evidence. that any gill

" net or nonfixed finfishing device has not.been.fished, he shall notify the licensee as established in
subsection C of this section, and if the licensee-fails to fish-or remove said gill nét or nonfixed finfishing
device within 24 hours after notification; the licensee shall be guilty-of a violation of this chapter and the
Marine Patrol Officer is authorized to confiscate said gill net or nonfixed finfishing device.

C. A verbal warning by 2 Marine Patrol Officer to the licensee by telephone or in person, or the placerent
of a warning tag on the gill net or nonfixed device adjacent to the Ycense tag shall constitute notificathn to .

the licensee of a potential violation. Warning tags shall explain that the gear must be fished or removed
from the water within 24 hours or the gear will ‘be confiscated.

§ 4VAC20-550-30 Penalty.

As set forth in §28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any person violating any provision of this chaptershall
be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor, and a second or subsequent violation of any provision of this clapter
committed by the same person within 12 months of a prior violation is a Class 1 misdemeanor.

Statutory Authority §28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia.
Historical Notes

Derived from VR450-01-0072 §3; eff. June 8, 1991; amended Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 21, eff.
July 1, 1995.
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"PERTAINING TO THE REMOVAL OF GILL NETS AND OTHER NON-FIXED
FINFISHING GEAR"

REGULATION 450-01-0072

PREAMBLE

This regulation establishes procedures for the confiscation of gill nets and other moveable fishing
devices which are abandoned or improperly fished.

This regulation is promulgated pursuant to authority contained in §28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia.
This regulation amends and re-adopts prior Regulation 450-01-0072 that was adopted by the Marine
Resources Commission on May 28, 1991 and was effective June 8, 1991. The effective date of this
regulation is July 1, 1995.

§l. PURPOSE:

The purpose of this regulation is to ensure that gill nets and other non-fixed finfishing gear
are properly fished and to establish procedures for the removal of those nets which are
abandoned or improperly fished.

§2. ~ FISHING REQUIREMENT; NOTIFICATION PROCEDURES:

A. It shall be unlawful for any person,to set any gill net or non-fixed finfishing device and
let said net or device remain unfished.

B. If, upon visual observation, any Marine Patrol Officer determines on reasonable
evidence that any gill net or non-fixed finfishing device has not been fished, he shall
notify the licensee as established in Section 2.C of this regulation and if the licensee
fails to fish or remove said gill net or non-fixed finfishing device within 24 hours after
notification, the licensee shall be guilty of a violation of this regulation and the Marine
Patrol Officer is authorized to confiscate said gill net or non-fixed finfishing device.

C. A verbal warning by a Marine Patrol Officer to the licensee by telephone or in person,
or the placement of a warning tag on the gill net or non-fixed device adjacent to the
license tag shall constitute notification to the licensee of a potential violation.
Warning tags shall explain that the gear must be fished or removed from the water
within 24 hours or the gear will be confiscated.
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"PERTAINING TO THE REMOVAL OF GILL NETS AND OTHER NON-FIXED
FINFISHING GEAR"

REGULATION 450-01-0072

§3. PENALTY:

As set forth in §28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any person, violating any
provision of this regulation shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor, and a second or
subsequent violation of any provision of this regulation committed by the same person
within twelve months of a prior violation is a Class 1 misdemeanor.

This is to certify that the foregoing is a true and accurate copy of the regulation passed by the Marine
Resources Commission, pursuant to the authority vested in the Commission by §28.2-201 of the
Code of Virginia and recorded in the Commission's minute book, at its meeting held in Newport
News, Virginia on June 27, 1995,

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
Marine Resources Commission

w Do LT

Wolliam A. Pruitt
Commissioner

Subscribed and sworn to before me on this (;) {l day of /W%S..

My Commission expires June 30, 1997,

Notary P




