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PREAMBLE

This emergency chapter establishes minimum size limits, gear restrictions, and quotas for the
harvest of scup (porgy). This emergency chapter is promulgated pursuant to the authority
contained in §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of Virginia. This emergency chapter amends
and re-adopts, as amended, Chapter 4 VAC 20-910-10 et seq., which was adopted on October 30,
2018 and made effective November 2, 2018. The effective date of this emergency chapter, as
amended, is October 23, 2019.

4 VAC 20-910-45. Possession limits and harvest quotas.

A. During the Winter I period January 1 through April 30, of each year, it shall be unlawful for
any person to do any of the following:

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia more than 50,000 pounds of scup;

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 50,000 pounds of scup during each consecutive 7-day
landing period, with the first 7-day period beginning on January 1; or,

3. When it is projected and announced that 80% of the coastwide quota for the Winter I period
has been attained, possess aboard any vessel or to land in Virginia more than a total of 1,000
pounds of scup.

B. During the Winter II period October 1 through December 31, of each year, it shall be unlawful
for any person to possess aboard any vessel or to land in Virginia more than 27,000 pounds of
scup.

C. During the Summer period May 1 through September 30, of each year, the commercial harvest
and landing of scup in Virginia shall be limited to 14,296 pounds, and it shall be unlawful for any
person to possess aboard any vessel in Virginia more than 5,000 pounds of scup.

D. For each of the time periods set forth in this section, the Marine Resources Commission will
give timely notice to the industry of calculated poundage possession limits and quotas and any
adjustments thereto. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess or to land any scup for
commercial purposes after any winter period coastwide quota or summer period Virginia quota
has been attained and announced as such.

E. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive any scup after any commercial harvest
or landing quota has been attained and announced as such.

F. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with hook and line, rod and reel, spear, gig, or other
recreational gear to possess more than 30 scup. When fishing is from a boat or vessel where the
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entire catch is held in a common hold or container, the possession limit shall be for the boat or
vessel and shall be equal to the number of persons on board legally eligible to fish multiplied by
30. The captain or operator of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any boat or vessel
possession limit. Any scup taken after the possession limit has been reached shall be returned to

the water immediately.
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This is to certify that the foregoing is a true and accurate copy of the emergency chapter passed by
the Marine Resources Commission, pursuant to authority vested in the Commission by §§ 28.2-
201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of Virginia, duly advertised according to statute, and recorded in
the Commission's minute book, at meeting held in Hampton, Virginia on October 22, 2019.

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION
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Steven G. Bowman
Commissioner

Subscribed and sworn to before me this 16 day of October 2019.
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